Pesto Passion

A trio of homemade pestos: parsley pesto, rocket pesto and spinach pesto

A trio of homemade pestos: parsley pesto, rocket pesto and spinach pesto

I’ve been making a bit of pesto lately and it would be fair to say that I have rediscovered my love for it. Mostly when you think of pesto, you think of the traditional basil pesto but I’ve been making pesto with spinach, rocket and parsley, and it is my intention to move onto coriander pesto and sundried tomato pesto. Of the pestos that I have made so far, my favourite is the spinach pesto. I spent a very pleasant evening last night with my friend Olivia, sat on her terrace eating spinach pesto spread on oat cakes (I highly recommend) and drinking Prosecco. Perfect.

Homemade pesto is so much better than pesto that you buy in the shops; the depth of flavour is so much greater and it’s very quick and easy to do. I’m thinking of starting my own range so hands up who would like to buy a jar?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Spinach Pesto

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups of spinach

3/4 cup of basil

1/2 cup of toasted pine nuts

1/2 cup of parmesan

4 cloves of garlic

Salt and pepper to taste

1tbsp lemon juice

1/2 tsp lemon zest

1/2 cup of olive oil

Method

Place ingredients in a food processor and blitz until smooth. Put into jars and store in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

