Bread of heaven

Bread. Now I know that a lot of people are anti-bread but I am most definitely not. I love bread but like with everything in life, it’s about moderation. For me, it’s one of the most delicious and comforting things there is and the smell of freshly baked bread is almost irresistible.

I found myself making two loaves of bread this weekend because that’s what happens when you leave me alone in the house for 5 minutes. On Saturday I made a raisin and hazelnut loaf for breakfast on Sunday morning. My parents were up in town as they were up to go to the theatre and I thought it might be nice to have some homemade bread for breakfast. It was really delicious and I was very pleased with the fruit and nut distribution. It’s lovely simply toasted with lashings of butter or with cheese, toasted or as is.

The second loaf I made was a simple white rustic style country loaf because I was bored on Sunday afternoon when everyone disappeared and left me on my own. It’s so easy to make. Obviously it requires a little bit of time for the loaf to prove but it is actually very little effort. If I may say so myself, it was an absolute triumph; the crust was golden brown and crusty, and the middle was soft and fluffy. I would say that I got a good bake on it with an even rise. We ate some for dinner last night when it was still warm from the oven – such a treat!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

