A Momentous Day

Saturday was indeed a momentous day. I left my house for my latest (and hopefully penultimate) physio session, had my physio session, got stuck in traffic near Hammersmith, got through said traffic and arrived back at mine to find a huge box on the island in my kitchen.

When I say huge box, I mean huge box, I could fit inside it if I really wanted to. Now the appearance of this box was unexpected because I hadn’t ordered anything of such size and I’m sure that I would have remembered if I had; so it was unexpected and exciting. I was then even more excited because this very large box was a Selfridges box. Or rather, a box from Selfridges. In the very large box was another box, and in that box was a third box, (it was all a bit like Russian dolls), but in that third box was… a shiny new KitchenAid mixer in blue willow! I’ll be honest and say that I was both stunned and overwhelmed by this incredible and generous gift from my even more incredible boyfriend. He’d only gone and ‘done a Beliffe’ who bought a KitchenAid (or KitchenMaid) for his wife for their anniversary. Our friend Rocky then ‘did a Beliffe’ by buying his wife a sewing machine, and now I too have received an lavish gift, one that has made me very happy. I no longer have to watch the Great British Bake Off or Saturday Kitchen enviously eyeing up their KitchenAids and wishing that I too had one because now I do.

My beautiful shiny new KitchenAid mixer

I have wanted a KitchenAid mixer for ages, and I mean ages. It has been a staple on my Christmas list for the last few years, right up alongside ‘panda’ and ‘pony’ and then there it was, waiting for me in my kitchen. NB will need to revise my list this year.

I put my mixer to work almost at once, There was a minor delay in the use of said mixed by a brief trip away but I used it for the first time on Monday and it was amazing. It was just so easy; my puny little arms didn’t get all tired out from having to hold the mixer in my hand, bits of sugar and butter didn’t end up all over the worktop on account of the pouring collar which keeps everything nicely contained in the bowl, and everything was well and truly mixed together. I used my KitchenAid to make caramel cupcakes, (I used the Primrose Bakery’s recipe), in a vast quantity. I definitely made too many but I was just having such fun. I think what I liked the most about having my KitchenAid is that it enables me to do several things at the same time because you can pop the ingredients in the mixer and just leave it to get on by itself while you, weigh out the next set of ingredients, make dinner, continue to clean the kitchen floor, deal with the laundry or whatever really.

I’ll be honest and say that these cakes are not for the faint-hearted, I will definitely have to go swimming this evening to offset my mid-morning treat… To make the cakes carameley, the batter contains both soft light brown and soft dark

Caramel Cupcakes with caramel cake crumbs

brown sugar and caramel sauce, (either homemade or shop bought), and a smidge of double cream! The icing for the top is made from unsalted butter, soft light brown sugar and milk, heated together and then a huge amount of icing sugar. I piped the icing onto the cakes and then sprinkled cake crumbs on top. I have bought the cakes into work so fingers crossed that they get the seal of approval. I’m sure the office won’t mind being my guinea pigs.

I think I would like to use the dough hook next so I’m thinking about making some pizzas at the weekend. That said, I am spending all of Saturday afternoon at an Italian restaurant so I may be over pizza come Sunday. Still, maybe they will have a good risotto or something.

I am genuinely impressed with my new toy; I know that it must be amazing because it has the seal of approval from my father who hates nothing more than things being out on the worktop but he insisted that I move it to a more prominent spot on the worktop so that it can be seen more clearly.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

