Mojito Mint Madness!

Yes people, you read that correctly, madness. Last night was spent baking a variety of ‘grown up’ cupcakes for my brother’s birthday today. I decided that seeing as he is now a fully fledged grown up, the cake needed to reflect this. I also wanted to be slightly experimental so I have made hazelnut cakes, (which are really quite delicious and highly reminiscent of a Kinder Bueno), and mojito mint madness cupcakes. Pretty crazy huh?

I trawled the internet, (I say trawled, had a quick Google), but struggled to find an English recipe. There’s nothing wrong at all with American recipes but sometimes it can be difficult to decipher the quantities, (a ‘stick’ of butter for example), so I rolled up my sleeves, put on my thinking cap and decided to adapt my standard 3 egg cake recipe for the job adding in a squeeze of lime juice and a drop of white rum. Just a drop mind, it should be just a hint of rum.

This is the first time that I have been moved to make cocktail flavoured cupcakes but after this initial success I would definitely be tempted to try out some more of my favourite cocktails; I think that Bramble flavoured cupcakes would work well, although I would be tempted to leave the gin out, (I’m not sure how much that would add to overall flavour of the cake), but blackberries and lemons – what’s not to like to ask? White Lady and, (if I could bear the taste), Amaretto Sours would also probably work well in cake form.

Cocktail flavoured cocktails are great fun to decorate as well. I chose to decorate the Mojito Mint Madness cupcakes with thin slices of lime and tiny black straws. Hopefully they will go down well at the party tonight. A little gimmicky perhaps but definitely fun and a bit more unusual than vanilla, lemon or chocolate.

It’s not just grown up cupcakes that I have been making lately. In addition to yet another batch of chocolate caramel shortbread, I also turned my hand to a gluten-free carrot cake which was really delicious although I do always find that the cake itself is always rather crumbly. Or as I like to say, I find the sponge “lacks integrity”. It wasn’t crumbly because it was dry however, I think it was more due to the quantity of chopped nuts in the sponge. I can across the recipe on the BBC Good Food website (http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/1658634/glutenfree-carrot-cake) and would definitely recommend it. Especially the cinnamon frosting which was absolutely delicious and so easy; just icing sugar, unsalted butter and cinnamon. Great for icing cakes around Christmas time I think.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Mojito Mint Madness Cupcakes

Ingredients:

3 large eggs

60z self-raising flour

60z butter, softened

60z caster sugar

Juice of 1 lime

1tbsp white rum

Frosting Ingredients:

Unsalted butter

Icing sugar

1 pouch funkin’ puree mojito cocktail mix (available from Waitrose)

Method:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 180 and line either a cupcake tin, muffin tin or mini cake tin with the appropriate sized cake cases.
  2. Cream together the softened butter and the caster sugar using an electric whisk until combined and light and fluffy. Add the three eggs and beat into the butter and sugar. Sift in the self-raising flour and fold into the mixture using a metal spoon. Squeeze in the lime juice, add a dash of rum and fold in. Divide the mixture between the cases and bake in the oven for between 15 and 20 minutes.
  3. Cool the cakes before icing. To make the topping, beat together unsalted butter and icing sugar until you have a smooth mixture and then add the funkin’ puree. Pipe onto the top of the cakes and then add additional decoration if you wish. Slices of lime and mini straws look really fun but miniature umbrellas, mint leaves or grated lime zest would also work well.
Leave a Reply

