Foodie Fun About Town

As I am currently away with work (I write this one from Scotland), I am spending very little time in my kitchen and consequently have very little to report on front. I have however, come across a number of interesting sounding foodie events in and around London at the moment that if you have time to spare sound like they could be worth further investigation.

Choux – now this sounds right up my street and I feel that it is fitting that I am currently drinking tea and eating profiteroles. More decadent than a cupcake, and more expensive too, Choux sell, well in case you hadn’t guessed it, little bite-sized choux pastry delights to customers. Available in a fabulous array of flavours – vanilla, lemon, peanut butter, salted caramel, strawberry and cream, coffee and passion fruit – the perfect naughty treat. I have longed for choux pastry delights to be readily available in the UK ever since I feel in love with religieuse in France. These culinary geniuses even create bespoke personalised choux pastries for their clients (could anything be more fabulous) and I am hoping that they will forgive me for sharing their photographs with you but they really should be shared. Although currently only available to order via the Choux website (http://choux-london.co.uk) but come mid September they will have an outlet in Harvey Nichols. Shopping trip anyone?

Ever wanted to eat the Olympics? Well if you head to Queens Park then you can. Courtesy Sarah and Jack who have transformed their flat into a pop-up restaurant where you can sample food from different continents whilst enjoying coverage of the Olympic Games. Diners are even given the opportunity to award bronze, silver and gold medals to the dishes. What fun! Just a shame that they I won’t have a change to head over before it’s all over. Interested in trying the dishes for yourself? Then go to eattheolympics.com where you can also find recipes for some of their dishes.I think that I will be trying out Kuku Paka (Kenyan chicken curry – Kenya) and the Lesothan Chakalaka (Lesotho).They’re nearly sold out so make like Usain Bolt if you want to give it a go.

Another fun filled foodie evening that can be found is at the Red Market on Old Street, http://redmarketlondon.com/. Why Red? I have no idea, but for street food from around the world, drinks, table tennis and petanque (I presume that you can make it as crazy as you want), then grab some friends and jump on the Northern line. Oh, and every Friday until the end of the month there will be music from the Last.fm DJ Team.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

