A Mothers’ Day Brunch

With Mothers’ Day looming up in front of us, (for those in the UK at least), it’s time to decide exactly how we are going to make our mothers feel special. At the moment, and in general as well, but particularly at the moment, I am very keen on brunch. It is an extremely versatile meal as there are so many things, and so many different cultures to take breakfast inspiration from. I love everything from freshly baked, delicious flaky pastries, to the traditional Full English (minus the baked beans), to the slightly more adventurous huevos rancheros.

For a spring, Mothers’ Day brunch, I favour something slightly more delicate than the beloved Full English, and a bit less work than the divine Eggs Benedict. This year, I am taking my inspiration from the Australians(!) and will be making the same corn fritters with guacamole that I made for Shrove Tuesday but instead of serving them with the ‘Mexican’ chicken, I will be serving them with rashers of crispy streaky bacon and a tangy tomato salsa. What I am looking forward to with this is the combination of the flavours, particularly the freshness of the guacamole mingling with the saltyness of the bacon. I am however, hoping that it will still be a relatively light brunch served with fresh coffee, a glass of bucks fizz and another of orange juice. There may even be some pastries, the Guardian had a very interesting article earlier this week with a guide to making your own homemade Danish pastries and I am sorely tempted to try my hand.

It’s not just the food that will be important on Sunday. The table will also be important and I think that big bunches of bright daffodils and tulips in glass jars with my strawberry Cath Kidston glasses and stripy napkins. Ideally this would be served al fresco but I’m not one to rely on the Great British weather.

2 responses to “A Mothers’ Day Brunch

  1. Hi theinvisibleservant,

    The corn cake recipe is as follows:
    50g self-raising flour
    1 beaten egg
    200g sweetcorn (from a tin)
    Half a bunch of finely chopped spring onions
    Handful of grated cheese (I used cheddar)
    Salt and pepper

    Combine all of the ingredients together in a large bowl. Heat some oil (and a little butter if you like) in a frying pan over a medium heat. Drop spoonfuls of the mixture in the pan, they will spread out a little, and cook for 2-3 minutes on each side. (When you see bubbles forming on the top, they should be ready to flip over for the first time).

    Because the mixture has to be fried in batches, I wrap the first batch up in foil while cooking the rest and then serve them as soon as the last batch is ready.

    Let me know if you need any other recipes. I can confirm that this makes a hearty and delicious breakfast!

    foiegrasandpetticoats x

Leave a Reply

