I’m sorry but I don’t like pancakes

I’m sorry but I just don’t like pancakes and there is nothing, as far as I can see, that anyone can do to persuade me otherwise. That said, I didn’t want to be entirely left out on Tuesday. It certainly seemed as if the whole of London was planning on eating pancakes and in some way, I wanted in on the action.

Fortunately I did not require to purchase lemons, flour, eggs etc as the shelves had been cleared of all the afore mentioned items by the time that I arrived at the supermarket. Shoppers were wondering around with their arms crammed full of pancake ingredients and threatening to drop eggs everywhere.

I satisfied my desire to eat something like a pancake but crucially not a pancake, by making a “Mexican” main course of chicken marinated in lime juice, cayenne pepper, chilli, coriander, cumin and garlic, with sweetcorn cakes and homemade guacamole. I love making guacamole, I find it very satisfying and it really is so quick and easy that there isn’t any excuse for not making your own. Oh and the texture of homemade guacamole is infinitely better than shop bought. How do I like my guacamole? Limey.

I thoroughly enjoyed the sweetcorn cakes, (although there is part of me that thinks that they would have been improved through the addition of some cheese), they were very easy and only require sweetcorn, spring onions, flour, an egg and some seasoning. I want to try them for breakfast as well with piles of crispy bacon. For me, these served as a savoury pancake substitute.

My sweet pancake sub was a batch of chocolate chip griddle cakes with peanut butter, chocolate sauce and banana. I loved them even if they were ridiculously filing – I only managed one and a half griddle cakes! Memo to self, make them smaller next time. A thoroughly satisfactory pancake substitution and according to James, the best dessert that I have ever made for him… I’m not so sure about this. I can’t believe that they are better than my sticky toffee pudding (in fairness I have never made this for him), or my chocolate tart with lime ice cream, or any of those desserts that I consider to be far more impressive. I think that I am slightly offended and it just means that I will definitely have to pull out all the stops at our next dinner party.

Griddle Cakes, makes c. 8 large griddle cakes
125g self-raising flour
30g caster sugar
2 eggs
1/2 tsp baking powder
Full fat milk
Handful of chocolate drops (optional)
For the toppings:
4 tbsps smooth peanut butter
2 bananas
Chocolate sauce (I used homemade but you could use a ready made sauce)
Chocolate drops for sprinkling
Vanilla ice cream

  1. Sift the flour and baking powder into a bowl and the sugar and chocolate drops and mix together.
  2. Make a well in the middle of the dry ingredients and add the eggs. Mix together well to form a stiff batter.
  3. Add milk to make a smooth, loose batter than drops from a spoon.
  4. Heat some butter and little oil to prevent it from burning in a large frying pan. When hot, drop spoonfuls of the batter into the pan. Cook for a couple of minutes and when the surface of the cakes start to bubble, turn over and quickly cook the other side.
  5. It is best to cook the batter in batches.
  6. Serve with slices of banana, melted peanut butter and chocolate sauce. Sprinkle with chocolate chips and finish with a scoopful of vanilla ice cream or alternatively, pile with the toppings of your choice.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a Reply

