It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas

It’s beginning to look, and smell, a lot like Christmas in my house. The tree, in a tradition true to my family, has now been installed in my front room. It was not without its difficulties; owing to the size of my tree, the trunk was too big to fit in my Christmas tree stand which was most inconvenient. However, my brother used his initiative and low behold, the tree stands! It might have involved the replanting of a fig tree and it might have involved a drill and a lot of string but the main thing to take away from all of this is that my tree is it upright. It is also decorated with a mere 3 strings of fairy lights and some beautiful decorations. I am going to a traditional theme and my whole house smells of Christmas tree.

The wreath is on the front door – a mixture of whole walnuts, hazelnuts, almonds and brazil nuts with a big red ribbon. The stairs are covered with ivy, silver sleigh bells and little red stars and in my humble opinion, they look amazing. There is Christmas bunting in my kitchen and around my fireplace with silver reindeer and a nativity scene (Russian doll style from John Lewis) so I think that the decorations are now complete.

Further inroads have been made to the Christmas cooking. Mince pies with orange pastry, a Christmas pudding that is a cross between a sticky toffee pudding and a carrot cake, and more biscotti, fruity this time, have all been made and put in the freezer ready and waiting for next weekend.

Next task? Chocolate truffles and present wrapping!

Leave a Reply

