Not just a bad haircut

So what has been on the menu lately chez moi? Well in truth, not huge amounts as I have been away rather a lot but there have been some more Thai influenced dishes; most notably a Thai inspired grey mullet dish that I whipped up alongside my brother who arrived in London (from the coast, naturally) with two such fish.  (It’s a hard life, kicking back on the boat and playing a round or two of golf).

They were amazingly fresh with really bright, shiny eyes and scales but I will be honest and say that I do always feel slightly nervous when fish is able to look at you.  I know that it’s ridiculous but I just can’t help it, it makes me feel uncomfortable.

It was the first time that either of us had eaten grey mullet, we had previously had red mullet but never grey, despite them having been an important part of the Mediterranean diet since the Romans.  Having now tried it however, I would definitely eat it again and recommend it.  It is a really meaty white fleshed fish that is not too fishy and we certainly got a lot of fish for our money.

They were wrapped up in foil and baked on the barbecue with a Thai marinade of fresh coriander, lemons, oyster sauce, soy sauce, palm sugar, red chillies, garlic and fish sauce and served with a coconut rice and lots of shredded spring onion.  Thank goodness I had my brother around for this as the one thing that I can never manage is shredded spring onion but fortunately he has the knife skills to achieve it.

A delicious meal that couldn’t fail to impress and it is definitely one that I will be bringing out when I have friends round for a barbecue.  The great thing about the marinade is that it can be used for other fish as well, not just grey mullet.  If you aren’t able to source any then maybe try it with sea bass or bream.

Leave a Reply

